Mark Zawiski Award for Outstanding Leadership

This annual award recognizes an individual who routinely goes “above and beyond” in service and leadership to NRAA, the independent dialysis provider community, and our ESRD and dialysis patients. 

Recognizing Excellence in the Dialysis Industry

The NRAA Mark Zawiski Award for Outstanding Leadership is presented annually to an individual in the ESRD industry. The candidates serve as examples to their colleagues and are known for their efforts to fully recognize the great strides made in the business aspects of ESRD.

This award is named after Mark Zawiski, a dialysis facility administrator renowned for his tireless work on behalf of dialysis patients and the associations that support independent dialysis providers.  Mark started his career in the renal industry while attending night school and later served as a patient care technician. He worked his way through college and graduate school as a dialysis technician, and went on to earn his MBA.  He worked his way up in the renal industry to the level of facility administrator for several dialysis facilities in the Miami area and became the administrator for two facilities in the Miami area.  

Mark excelled in volunteering many hours as President of the Florida Renal Administrators Association (FRAA) and it wasn't long before he started participating in the NRAA. He served as President of the FRAA and as a Director and then Treasurer for the NRAA.  He was a frequent presenter at FRAA and NRAA educational events, graciously sharing his experience and skills to help facilities improve their operations while remaining committed to patient care.  He established a working relationship with the Florida Intermediary which allowed the FRAA to become a resource to the Intermediary, and he was also instrumental, along with Jeff Lehman, in working with HCFA (CMS predecessor) in establishing and updating the Medicare Cost Report on behalf of the NRAA.  

Mark tragically and suddenly passed away at an early age, leaving behind a wife and two young children, and a legacy of service and dedication to the ESRD and dialysis community.  He was a friend and supporter of many in the industry. His support locally and nationally is the underlying reason for this award. 



Mark Zawiski Award Recipients

2016 Judith Kari

2015 Sue Rottura

2014 Douglas Johnson, MD

2013 Jeff Lehman

2012 Larry Emerson

2011 Barry Straube, MD

2010 Stan Langhofer

2009 Katrina Russell

2008 Mike Cooper

2007 Lori Hartwell

2006 Ann Stivers

2005 Keith Mentz

2004 Alex Kemp

2003 Ken Chen

2002 Diane Wish

2001 Tony Messana

2000 Maureen Michael


Click here for a recap on the achievements of past recipients.


Zawiski Award Presentations

2015 Award Winner Sue Rottura and 
2014 Award Winner Doug Johnson

President Sue Rottura and
2012 Award Winner Larry Emerson


President Larry Emerson and
2010 Award Winner Stan Langhofer


2008 Award Winner Mike Cooper receives the award from Past Presidents Tony Messana and Maureen Michael




2014 Award Winner Doug Johnson and
2013 Award Winner Jeff Lehman

2012 Award Winner Larry Emerson and 2013 Award Winner Jeff Lehman

2012 Award Winner Larry Emerson and
2013 Award Winner Jeff Lehman


President Diane Wish and
2011 Award Winner Barry Straube


President Keith Mentz and
2009 Award Winner Katrina Russell


Additional information